The science of shooting a basketball

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The science of shooting a basketball

I’m someone who is never going to post often. I’m just going to say what I have to say and then I’ll go back into the background.

I want Marshall to hire a shooting coach. If I was the WSU shooting coach then WSU would be 32-1 and ranked number 1 right now.

I’m kidding, but I'm only partially kidding. I’m not looking for a job, and WSU would never hire me, but they could definitely use a shooting coach. I studied the art and science of shooting for more than 10 years.

I just did the math and I realized that I’ve taken more than 5,000,000 basketball shots during my life. The last time I shot I made more than 40 jump-shots in a row, all of them off the backboard, from about 18 feet, from about 10 feet left of the lane. Obviously it’s easier to shoot without a defense.

My dad was a high school basketball head coach. Some of you might have played for him. I’m sure that some of you played against him. He was my main shooting coach.

At various times when I was young I was extremely lucky to share the court with James Carr, Antoine Carr, Aubrey Sherrod, Ricky Ross, Darnell Valentine, Karl Papke, Greg Dreiling, and even Jay Jackson. Five of those guys started for WSU, and those five guys together would make a top-flight team.

I took shooting extremely seriously for years. Part of that study was the mechanics of shooting. That part gets a lot of attention when players are young, but for some reason it’s usually neglected later on. Baseball hitters keep tweaking their entire career. For some reason basketball players seem to settle into complacency and quit tweaking.