Question on Calling Traveling on Loose Ball Possessions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question on Calling Traveling on Loose Ball Possessions

After years of seeing it happen and wondering if/how the rule had changed, I’m finally starting this thread asking for clarification from whoever knows (but preferably from one of the refs on the board). It drove me nuts last year since I saw it at least 4 times with Graham, and I’ve seen it multiple times in games this year.

What exactly is the rule - and more specifically how it is actually supposed to be applied - for calling traveling when a player gets on the floor for a loose ball?

I am far from an expert, but back in the 90s when I was playing and reffing intramurals/tournaments to earn extra money I clearly remember being taught on multiple occasions by coaches and refs how to handle that situation. And that was:

If a player gets on the floor for a loose ball and tries to get up, it’s traveling. If they roll over, it’s traveling. If they throw a leg out and try to get a better angle for a pass, it’s almost always traveling. But if they stay in the same position in which they obtained the loose ball and try to pass out of it, it is NOT traveling.

Multiple times last year I saw Graham dive for a ball or get clipped obtaining a rebound, hit the deck, and without even making an effort to get up (and in some cases right as he was hitting the ground) the whistle was blown and traveling called.

Bottom line – I’m pretty sure I’m not imagining that there’s a lot less leeway than there used to be in this area.

Any insights from our experts?

Oops. I thought I was in the basketball forum when I hit the "new thread" button. Kai, can you move this for me? Thanks.

Comment

I've ref'd a few games, but I'm not an expert. As a player, I was always taught that if you used the floor to your advantage, it was traveling, i.e. rolling over.

Comment