American Gold Medalist Gets Results Reinstated

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• American Gold Medalist Gets Results Reinstated

I have no idea how many of you know about Jim Thorpe, but everyone should. I've been pretty obsessed with him since I was in the 4th grade and first learned of him and his feats and his amazing athletic prowess. I read the book, Jim Thorpe, All American once a year from 4th grade until I graduated from HS. I've watched the movie staring Burt Lancaster as Jim Thorpe and read just about everything I could about the man, the myth, the legend that I can find online. He dominated football and track and was pretty good at a number of other sports, some of which he also played on a professional level.

Thorpe was born on an Indian reservation in Oklahoma and eventually shipped of to Pennsylvania for schooling at Carlisle College where he made a name for himself on the gridiron as well as on the track. Dwight D Eisenhower once said that he was the greatest football player he ever faced. Thorpe became an track star by accident. Legend has it he was walking by while the track team was practicing and asked if he could try. He was talking about the high jump and I believe he was in overalls and work shoes and easily cleared the bar. He became a beast in both the Decathlon and the Pentathlon. He played football professionally for years as well as some baseball. He was also said to be quite the ballroom dancer and a pretty good bowler. I want to say he also played some ice hockey but I'm not sure if that's true or not but I know I've seen it mentioned somewhere.