Miami Building Collapse

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Miami Building Collapse

Not sure how many of you are following this, but I have never seen anything like this. I watched video of it falling, and if no one had told me, I would have said it was a planned demolition, in how it fell. I'm not an engineer, but am very curious to see the investigation findings. It just doesn't seem possible that one portion of the structure could fail and cause such a collapse. Seems like there would need to be several points of failure at the same time, or a chain reaction to cause it.

But what a tragedy. So many lives lost. Hopefully there will be a few survivors holding on in the rubble, but....
    "When life hands you lemons, make lemonade." Better have some sugar and water too, or else your lemonade will suck!

Read an article on it and a professor started doing research on it in the 90s. They saw that half of it was sinking by about 2mm per year and it was very unusual (and that was in the 90s). I wonder if it was sitting above an undiscovered sink hole or something.
    Kung Wu say, man who read woman like book, prefer braille!

Comment

Here is a USA Today article that talks about the land sinking in the 90s based on satellite observations, but not necessarily the building. The land was also identified last year as being unstable (which I assume doesn't mean impending danger, but at least something to be watching). The ironic thing is that the building's required 40-year inspection was currently underway.

https://www.usatoday.com/in-depth/gr...ay/5333761001/

Edit: Another article linked in that one does mention the building sinking into the land (via displacement), so I'm not sure which phrasing is accurate.

Comment

Originally posted by Kung Wu View Post